Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Mum, snow, and a new lens

with 2 comments

Today was my first serious play with my new lens, the canon 50mm 1.8 mk 2. As primes go it’s a cheap as they come, cheap as chips build quality etc, but it’s a very sharp bit of kit.

Subject for the day, my Mum. It’s snowed, loads.

Things to note: Metering a black coat in the snow is HARD. In the end I set to manual and chimped like hell, and I still over exposed everything slightly. Alas.

Shooting with a prime forces you to make good use of foot zoom. You really notice the issues when you don’t have much room to back up.

Written by James

December 2, 2010 at 9:21 pm

Posted in Photography, Photos

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think you did really well with these. And yes prime lenses have their benefits, but lack of space makes it an issue. I have that problem when shooting crowd events and dancing

    lensaddiction

    December 6, 2010 at 8:59 am

    • I agree with you, primes are fantastic when you have lots of space to manoeuver, but I suspect the best sort of lens for portraits is something like a 24-105 or 70-200 if working at distance. I don’t have the money for those yet though.

      Thank for the comments.

      James

      December 6, 2010 at 10:25 am


Leave a Reply

