Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Back to nature

leave a comment »

Having woken at the ridiculous hour of 5:30am this morning in order to fetch my parents from the Airport (lucky blighters have just been to Rhodes), I grabbed the camera and headed out the door. The reason was simple, on the way back over the Pennines the scenery was gorgeous, a low lying mist juxtaposed with the autumn colours just looked fantastic. There wasn’t a breath of wind, so I thought I’d head down to a local lake that I haven’t visited with the camera in the hope of getting some great scenary.

The best laids plans of mice and men, however… as it turned out there was the feintest breeze that was rippling up the lake, and the mist was obscuring the lovely colours. A quick change of plan and I started harassing the local birdlife. These were the result.

I think my favourite is the one with the swan dipping it’s head, but I couldn’t put my finger on why. The white background here doesn’t suit these images, they look best on a black background. Check them out on flickr (hit the zoom icon) for a better look).

Written by James

October 31, 2010 at 9:46 pm

Leave a Reply

