Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Kate and Craigs Wedding

leave a comment »

Last Friday I had the pleasure of attending the wedding of Kate and Craig. Kate is my cousin, Craig I admit I don’t know at all having only met him twice, on both occasions briefly. Perfect opportunity to take along my camera and see if I could get some shots.

On arriving it was obvious there were going to be issues. For starters the light was awful, overcast and dark. What i really needed was a camera with great ISO performance or some very fast glass. I had neither, still using the sigma 18-200 3.5-6.5 that I borrowed and my 400D. Still, summising that a noisy image beats a blurred image I cranked the ISO and went to work.

Below is a selection of my favourite images of the day, in this first instance all involving either the bride or groom. A couple aren’t quite as tack sharp as I would have liked simply due to the necessity of the cranked ISO and subsequent noise reduction, but I am really pleased with the composition.

First up, the Bride and her Father (Uncle Kev) arrive at the Church.
Kate and Kev

Next, the bride and groom (this one is sharp, reduced ISO as I was using flash)
Bride and Groom

The Bride with a huge smile
The Bride

And finally, the happy couple
Man and Wife

This shoot was a real challenge. The lighting was terrible so a close eye on shutter speed was essential. One lesson learned, get fast glass for a wedding, something with a massive aperture would be ideal. In hindsight a nifty fifty would have been perfect, the prime lens being a bit restrictive with regards to composition (unless you’re the official wedding tog and can move to where you need to be), but would have let me use a much lower ISO without compromising shutter speed.

The full set can be found at My Flickr

Written by James

August 11, 2010 at 6:37 pm

Posted in Photography, Photos

Leave a Reply

