Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Kite Surfing

with 3 comments

First, a quick note. This is the first time I’ve linked to images on flickr so things may not go smoothly. If images fail to display at an time please leave me a comment with details. There should be three images below.

On a recent visit to southport I went out for a drive in hope of finding something interesting to photograph. Having failed in the town I decided to get a decent shot of the sea, hoping for a nice pier etc. What I found was completely unexpected. Driving down past pontins at Southport there is a beach that you can drive onto and then along for about a mile, and at one end is a kite surfing club. With a mates borrowed 18-200 I felt equipped to get some nice shots.

The only downside, the sun was out to sea meaning the colours were pretty crap and washed out. The solution, wait until the surfers lined up with the sun and catch them in silhouette in the reflection. Here are the best of the day.

Kite Surfing 1

Kite Surfing 2

Kite Surfing 3

Written by James

August 10, 2010 at 9:41 am

Posted in Photography, Photos

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like what you did with these, even tho you cannot see face detail there is enough immediacy in the closeups to get a feel for the action.

    lensaddiction

    August 10, 2010 at 9:50 am

    • Thanks. I’d love to have a go at this with more favourable light, so much action going on that it’s pretty constant shooting and you can get some great images.

      James

      August 10, 2010 at 9:54 am

  2. I have a whole heap I have taken but not uploaded, and was lucky to get ones with the sun behind me so quite nicely lit. Will get my A into G and upload some of the better ones like I have been meaning to for AGES

    lensaddiction

    August 11, 2010 at 5:15 am


Leave a Reply

