Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Golf at the Players Club

with 5 comments

Here we have a couple of images of friends of mine playing golf at the Players Club near Bristol in a recent Europro tournament. First up is Neil Walker, photographed after hitting a drive on the 5th hole. The difficulty with this shot was Neil’s choice of clothing, metering was a real pain to get right.

Next we have a familiar face from the blog. Paul, hitting an approach shot to the 7th. I’m particularly pleased with this image since I also have the ball in shot.

Feedback on all aspects much appreciated, especially on composition. Both these images have had a minor crop, I simply can’t make my mind up where to place the golfer in the frame. The rule of thirds doesn’t seem to work as I think it should. Very little processing has gone into either image thus far.

Written by James

July 20, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Posted in Photography, Photos

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think they’re great shots. I’m certainly a novice myeslf so I would feel a little too shy to make serious comments about their quality. I love the one with the golf ball still in the frame. I might consider cropping out the sign in the first shot – unless that would place the golfer too close to the edge of the frame. Great job!

    photographyfree4all

    July 20, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    • Thanks for the feedback, and don’t worry about being a novice. I am too, we all learn from each other. I pretty much agree with both your points on the sign, I’ve contemplated having a go at removing it with photoshop. I’ll have a go and see what results.

      Thanks

      James

      July 20, 2010 at 5:46 pm

  2. I like what you did with the second shot. The first one to me is distracting with the big black sign off to the left – I know you might not have been able to move to counter it, but things like that I am *slowly* learning to try to see in the viewfinder BEFORE I take the shot, and recompose around them.

    Sometimes hard to remember in the excitement 🙂 I agree about the composition in the second shot – and totally go with the rules are made to be broken. I tend to crop quite hard, esp with an action shot, I think it makes a real difference.

    lensaddiction

    July 26, 2010 at 9:22 am

    • I know what you mean with the first shot. I was trying for ages to get a good shot of him, but his playing partners had a knack of getting into the shot. The issue with golf is that there isn’t much scope to move around once you see the player set up, they tend to shout at you if you move too much. I’ve been contemplating photoshopping the sign out (trying to), but I don’t like to overdo photoshop and that would be a pretty major change. I tried a crop, it didn’t work.

      James

      July 28, 2010 at 5:46 pm

  3. I like the first shot the best. I do agree with lensaddiction, the black sign is somewhat distracting. If you crop it then its perfect (but you’ll lose the wideness).

    Squire Starsquid

    August 3, 2010 at 7:48 pm


Leave a Reply

