Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Ash in the sky for a sunset over the lake

with 4 comments

Or so I thought. With the volcano erupting in Iceland pouring out enough ash to close UK airspace I thought the sunset might be spectacular. As it turned out it was very nice, but on it’s own not quite the earth shattering spectacle I thought it could be. My subject matter changed, then, to use the sunset as a backdrop. Some of the results seen in the following four images. I’ve given a couple a slight crop but no massive editing has been done here, I’d rather be a photographer than a photoshop artist.

First, simplicity itself, a swan almost in silhouette against a fiery lake

This second image is probably my favourite image of the set, it’s the epitomy of peace and tranquility

Here I have taken a “landscape” shot in portrait as I like the way it frames the reflection of the sun.

And finally two swans feeding.

Written by James

April 17, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Posted in Photography, Photos

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. the swan is lovely and the lighting is very strong 🙂 Personally I would have cropped out the grass bits to the left but that may have disturbed the lovely pattern of water ripples, so I see either call is valid there 🙂

    lensaddiction

    April 22, 2010 at 8:58 am

    • We have similar thoughts on the swan it seems. I had a very quick go at cloning out the out of focus reed but couldn’t get the ripples to look right, and a full on crop ruins the balance somehow. Possibly an image to spend a bit of time with.

      Thanks for the feedback

      James

      April 22, 2010 at 9:48 am

  2. […] Ash in the sky for a sunset over the lake April 20102 comments […]

  3. These are really nice photos. I like the color background and there is still enough light to see the details of the swan.

    Bill Grover

    May 4, 2013 at 3:02 pm


Leave a Reply

