Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Computer woes

with 5 comments

I’ve got a bit of a drama going on. While trying to sort out a computer issue I’ve managed to completely delete the partition table on my computer. The net result, my hard drive might as well be blank. I’m posting this from another computer as my own is now useless for the near future.

It should be recoverable but I can’t know that yet. I’m not willing to compromise the data on it until I’ve done a complete bit by bit backup which will have to wait until my new hard drive arrives. So, no photos for the coming week or so at least.

I wouldn’t mind so much if I was at fault, but the fault here lies squarely with microsoft. I ran the windows install disk up to the point of partition formatting, but exited before writing anything to disk. Unfortunatly the disk didn’t like that idea, so it erased the old partition table without writing a new one in its place. VERY annoying and someone at M$ will be getting shouted at when I have the time. I confimed this to be the case by running the disk again, to the same point, and noting that once again, without being bidden, it started mucking about with the partition table. Blasted thing, I hate windows. If it wasn’t for photoshop and lightroom I would never use it, linux all day for me.

Written by James

March 12, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Posted in Off Topic

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Never trust software to do what you want it to, sadly.

    I am always wary of partitions, thats why I have two separate RAID arrays in my machine, and all my pix on one (backed up) and everything else on the other (backed up)

    GOOD LUCK!

    lensaddiction

    March 25, 2010 at 7:52 am

    • Now that’s a man who planned ahead. I didn’t get that far…

      Fortunately I’ve managed to recover all the data using a fresh debian install on a different hard drive and various recovery applications, most notably testdisk to discover the hard drive layout and recover certain files and fdisk to recreate the partitions.

      The question I’m now asking myself is whether or not to install windows at all or to take a peak at bibble and the gimp. I think setting up a RAID array might be in my future too.

      James

      March 25, 2010 at 4:15 pm

  2. *grin* Iz a gurl LOL

    lensaddiction

    March 25, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    • Hmm, I really ought to have known that. Alas, sufficiently abashed and hoping to make amends

      James

      March 25, 2010 at 11:31 pm

      • Not a problem, Im amused at the assumption – being a wimmin in IT for as long as I have gets you used to that kind of thing 🙂

        lensaddiction

        March 26, 2010 at 1:18 am


Leave a Reply

