Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

My 52 – Mechanical

with 2 comments

This weeks 52, and much thinking ensued. The theme was mechanical and all I’ve been able to think of all week is car engine. No no and thrice no. I refuse to photograph my car engine. It’s old, its dirty and the weather is crap. Maybe there is an image under the bonnet but I didn’t fancy going and finding it.

The perfect photo for the week has already been taken, I may edit this post and put it up. I went to the railway museum in York a few weeks back and got a few shots of the innards of one of the old steam trains. Absolutely perfect for the week, but not within the remit.

And then I had a brainwave. Sat on my desk, my powerball. It’s all about mechanical energy, it’s a hand powered gyroscope, and it lights up rather pleasingly. The question was how to capture it. After lots of attempts I came up with these three.


This one is my current favourite primarily due to the reflection

Written by James

February 28, 2010 at 10:17 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These are cool – I like the second one, you can still see your hand in the pic but the ball has groovy blur happening.

    lensaddiction

    March 2, 2010 at 8:36 am

    • Ooh, a difference of opinion. I’m starting to favour the third one in the set. All are a bit abstract so differences of opinion guaranteed I suppose.

      James

      March 2, 2010 at 10:06 am


Leave a Reply

