Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Dearne Valley

leave a comment »

Yet more snow fell today foiling my previous plans but giving me the chance to get outside with the camera. I headed off to the Dearne Valley Nature Reserve in the hope of getting some nice pics of the lake covered in ice and snow. Since I haven’t posted in a while I thought I’d stick up the first couple I liked and processed.


First up, a line of trees seen accross the frozen lake, partly reflected where the ice has melted. Correct exposure was tough here, the flat sky and snow on the ground meant much use of the histogram to guage the exposure.


In this second image the bridge forms part of a natural frame for the lane it used to cross.

Nothing overly technical about these shots, shooting in the snow always poses a bit of a challenge getting exposure correct, I found myself varying anything up to 2 fulls stops of over exposure compared to the meter reading in some scenes today.

Written by James

February 21, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Posted in Photography, Photos

Leave a Reply

