Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

The Millenium Bridge

with 2 comments

I didn’t limit myself to photos of people while visiting York yesterday. While at University in York I lived very close to the millenium bridge, and indeed had to cycle over it to get to the University. This was my first visit back to York with a camera and so I parked up near my old house and went to take some pics of it. My favourite shot here is also the most questionable in that I don’t know how to process it. As it is seen here I have left it pretty much as it came out of the camera, but it looks fantastic with a split tone effect. I haven’t applied one because I think I am becoming obsessed with split toning, but if anyone wants to see it please leave a comment and I will put a version up.


Taken for an abstract feel, this image looks great with pretty much any processing. As seen here it is essentially the way it came out of the camera.


This second image is virtually black and white with just a hint of colour to give it a little warmth.


This final image was taken in the hope of getting a silhouette look. In particular I like the cyclist’s converging from either end of the bridge, adding that extra touch.

Written by James

January 30, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Posted in Photography, Photos

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The first one is quite cool, I had to look at it a few times before I could quite get it (its nearly midnight LOL)

    LOVE the second one, the warmth really helps in this, and its a great angle

    I think I need to see the third bigger to appreciate the details

    lensaddiction

    February 3, 2010 at 10:32 am

  2. Thanks, my favourite of the three is the first one, but with different processing. I’ve uploaded it to my redbubble here

    The third one is probably a bit too dark at this size, I agree, if I get around to it I’ll see about linking to a bigger version, or I might have another go at processing it later.

    Thanks again.

    James

    February 3, 2010 at 11:24 am


Leave a Reply

