Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

My 52: Week 4 – Street

with 2 comments

An interesting task this one, had to get over a few inhibitions. It’s tough taking photos of strangers for the first time. Various problems arose, in particular I found that I wasn’t paying much attention to camera settings due to the desire to get the framing correct. As a result in various dark places I ended up with a low shutter speed and lots of deleted images for out of focus issues. This could be sorted with faster glass or with higher ISO.

All images have been processed, real world colours are a bit dull at this time of year, though I may try some colour versions.

This is my favourite from the day, the only downside being that it is every so slightly out of focus due to 1/50 shutter speed

The only black and white of the day, this old chap stopped at just the right moment and had a great expression. The only issue is that I had to give this a bit of a crop as he was stood a fraction too far away and running might have looked a bit iffy.

This one has had a very slight split toning effect added, I quite like it but would like other opinions on it.

Another with split toning, again suffering the same issue, ever so slightly out of focus due to slow shutter speed.

I think for really strong images of this nature you need a great subject. A street performer or musician would be fantastic. As it is they are nice, but not something to write home about. Far more valuable is the learning experience of shooting people on the move, I now know to be more aware of shutter speed.

Written by James

January 29, 2010 at 11:50 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These are great! I love the density of the contrast and the crispness of the black and white in the third one. I have no idea at all what Split toning is so cannot comment.

    I like your man in a hat, tho its a bit dark to me and you kind of lose him in the people walking behind him?

    I know how you feel about shooting people, and how they feel about it, its all a bit of a touchy subject. On the couple of times I have been out and they have seen me and the camera, I point to the camera and smile enquiringly, and if they want to pose they do.

    Obviously if you are stalking with a long lens then that doesnt work at all. Re the street performers, have you seen my busker pix?

    lensaddiction

    February 3, 2010 at 10:36 am

  2. Thanks for the comments, I think you hit the nail on the head with the guy in black and white. I needed to be a fraction closer.

    Split toning is essentially a black and white image with a little bit of one or two colours added. Think sepia and you won’t be far off.

    I’ll troop on over to your blog later today for a look at your street performers, I don’t recall if I’ve seen them. I do think a strong subject such as a busker can make images like these.

    James

    February 3, 2010 at 11:22 am


Leave a Reply

