Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Yorkshire Sculpture Park

with 2 comments

Today was the day of the talkphotography sculpture park meet. Perfect for me, I can be there in ten minutes from walking out of the door. Unfortunately the light was about as inspiring as a puddle of mud, grey skies, no shadows, dreary lighting…. snore.

But enough of the moaning, to the piccies. First off, the golf balls

These three sit near the entrance and the standard shot is to get 10 yards away and get them all in frame. I went for a different perspective, up close with shallow depth of field.

Next up, a sculture of something

I’m tempted to have another crack at this one, I’m certain there is an image in here somewhere and I don’t think I’ve cracked it with this one. Comments/suggestions most welcome.

And finally, a wooden thingy.

No idea what it is, but I quite like the shot so no worries 😀

Overall another good learning experience. I learned a couple more things that don’t work, and realised that I should have taken shots from a bit further away from most of these scultures. I haven’t yet figured out how to make them pop with processing. Loads more images from the day still unprocessed so expect to see a few more over the coming days.

The best aspect of the day was really getting out there and meeting like minded people, I had a good chat with two or three guys from the forum and I expect we will organise something again soonish.

Written by James

January 17, 2010 at 7:25 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have really enjoyed my fieldtrips – its great to talk shop with likeminded people – I really learn heaps.

    Golfballs are funky – shame they are white, makes it extra hard to get contrast. I like what you did with it.

    lensaddiction

    January 21, 2010 at 7:57 am

    • I had quite a play with curves just to get anything interesting out of the shot. My suspicion is that they would look great in summer or autumn with plenty of colour surrounding them, but with the floor essentially all snow I couldn’t find the image I wanted.

      James

      January 21, 2010 at 11:13 am


Leave a Reply

