Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

My 52: Week 2 – Poems/Poetry

with 6 comments

This one took some thinking about. The obvious thing was to pick a poem, find an object or concept within and then photograph it. This struck me as completely counterproductive, the goal of the 52 is to inspire creativity.

So then I sat around for 24 hours without a clue what to shoot. After much thinking time I would up with a couple of concepts and the images that resulted are below.


This first image is intended to show a poem in creation, to capture the feeling of a writer working late at night. The poem as it stands was hand written by myself with fountain pen. The table is a wooden dining room table, lit by a bedside lamp shining through a cut glass tumbler filled with a dark spirit to give the light texture and warmth. I held a mirror to reduce the shadow from the pen and used the timer on the camera which was on a tripod. Exposure time was 1 seconds at F9.


In this second image the concept is “poetry in motion”, an 8 second exposure to capture the movement of the second hand on the watch. The diffiulty with this image is avoiding reflections in the watch face, with an 8 second exposure any texture on the reflected surface makes it into the image.

Right now the first image is my favourite for the 52. I am contemplating taking a self portait while writing a poem to see how that works out but that will require some planning, the images here are ready to roll.

Written by James

January 11, 2010 at 12:05 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. loved it,

    happy 2010.
    happy blogging.

    jingle

    January 12, 2010 at 2:21 pm

  2. Great description of how you photographed this scene. Love your composition.

    Mike Moore

    January 12, 2010 at 5:00 pm

  3. Love the watch! Brilliant Idea 🙂 I have been having fun with slower shutterspeeds myself recently. And I totally get what you are saying about reflections – for my Tech Tips posts when I am taking pix of my 40D with my P&S – the PS in macro has to get REALLY close to focus and in the end I just gave up and left the reflections there. Clearly I need a better second camera LOL

    As for the poetry – I don’t think it can be ‘produced on command’ as such – you have to feel it. I particularly like an American poet e.e.cummings – perhaps if you read a bit more poetry it might inspire your inner muse? Good LUCK!

    http://www.poemhunter.com/ee-cummings/ – all his poems online!

    http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/anyone-lived-in-a-pretty-how-town/ – this is my fave of his

    lensaddiction

    January 14, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    • Thanks for the links, I’ll be off checking them out. Not sure why your comment got shunted for approval rather than appearing, the links maybe. I’ll look into it.

      Reflections get everywhere, I tried photographing a glass of red wine and could I hell do it without getting the reflection of the camera in the glass. I’ve added you to my blogroll too. Now to figure out whats going on with my comments.

      James

      January 14, 2010 at 7:18 pm

      • Aha, turned out to be the links, two links in a comment holds the comment for moderation. I’ve upped it to 4 now.

        James

        January 14, 2010 at 7:20 pm


Leave a Reply

