Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Emley Moor and a mistake

with one comment

With snow still covering the ground I went off to purchase walking boots just outside Wakefield. This entailed a trip near Emley Moor so I threw the camera in the car with the idea of testing out my walking boots and getting some nice photos. Here is a small selection, with a couple more on my redbubble.


A bit of a different take with this one, the bush up close framing the mast in the background.


I’ve processed this image for an antique look, its a look that looks great with pretty much all photos of Emley Moor Mast for some reason, I’ve had to resist the temptation to do lots of this


I think this is my favourite image of the day.

And finally for this set, a black and white

So, what was the mistake. Pretty simple, a little bit of snow got on the lens and it dried as a dirty smear. As a result in a large number of images I had a small rainbow that ruined the photos. Fortunately I have been able to remove it in the majority without too much trouble, in particular treating black and white has helped. The lesson learned, always make sure the front of your lens is clean before shooting, such a small detail could end up ruining your best ever photo.

Written by James

January 10, 2010 at 8:04 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These photos are amazingly beautiful.

    smart post.

    jingle

    January 12, 2010 at 2:20 pm


Leave a Reply

