Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Sun, snow and good timing

with 3 comments

Snow still lying thick on the floor but plenty of warmth in todays shots. I went for a walk around Cold Hiendly reservoir and fortunately for me the sun decided to make an appearance. Here are two of my favourite shots from the day.

When I first saw this scene there was no sign of this swan. There was a swan just out of shot to the right, but it had its head tucked under its wing and was showing no signs of movement. My intention was simply to capture the pond and sun, which I did. Then, just as I was about to walk away this swan jumped into the pond from the left. I saw it would traverse the reflected sun and so I lay in wait. As it got close I focused the camera and just held down the shutter, 3.5 frames per second until the buffer was filled. Wait for the buffer to empty and then hold down the shutter again. I ended up with about 20 photos of the traversal, this is my favourite of the lot, but I have the swan at all stages if anyone would like to see others.

This second image was on my walk home, the colours in the sky were amazing, not a jot of processing here, out of the camera, convert to jpeg and here it is.

I haven’t even looked at half the images I took, I ended up with over 200 from the day so expect to see a few more in the next couple of days. I’ll be experimenting indoors a little too. Comments are, as always, welcome.

Written by James

January 8, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Posted in Photography, Photos

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the shot of sun on snow plain. At first glance the snow looks like a body of water. I’ve always wanted to photograph a snowy field but never could find a good composition for the shot. This one is excellent though.

    Misou

    February 24, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    • Thanks for the feedback, glad you like it. I think it’s more a matter of luck finding the right scene, I almost walked a different way and would have missed this entirely.

      James

      February 25, 2010 at 12:38 am

  2. […] The busiest day of the year was January 8th with 51 views. The most popular post that day was Sun, snow and good timing. […]


Leave a Reply

