Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Indoors having fun

leave a comment »

It’s snowed. Lots! I dug out the drive eaerlier and stuck a ruler in to measure it, 7 inches deep on the flat bits, much much deeper wherever there was anything to drift against. So, lots of snow pics… or not.

Don’t get me wrong, I did take a few, but I think there has been enough snow on the blog for a while (until tomorrow, maybe). Instead I settled myself inside with the tv going and a few subjects to shoot up close and personal.

To get the lighting here I recruited my bedside lamp, positioned just off shot to the right. A couple of pieces of blank paper form the background and the image has been converted to black and white in photoshop.

Continuing further along the same lines, with this image I was going for a minimalist approach. A question I often find with images like this, should I be using new objects or old? New objects give a cleaner image, but the scratches on this utensil give it a bit of added character I think.

The final image for this post is a continuation of the coins theme from yesterday. Not much has been done to this image, it’s essentially right off the camera.

Written by James

January 5, 2010 at 10:29 pm

Posted in Photography, Photos

Leave a Reply

