Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Black and White

with 4 comments

I’ve been playing about with more advanced techniques for creating black and white images. Rather than simply reducing the saturation I’ve been in the channels dialogue in photoshop, playing about with contrast and generally trying to give black and white images some punch. This one I am really proud of

The detail retention is much improved with the new processing, this is one of my favourite images to date. You can see a higher quality version on my redbubble, linked to in the side bar.

Written by James

January 1, 2010 at 12:19 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m pretty impressed with what I’ve seen here. Photography is a passion of mine, and I love poking around other people’s sites to check their pictures and read up on tecnhiques, etc. Keep up the good work.

    Ducktrap Photo

    January 6, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    • Thankyou very much. Not sure why but your comment got shunted to my spam queue, fortunately I spotted it. Just having a quick look around your site, you have some great images.

      James

      January 6, 2010 at 10:54 pm

  2. I really like this, its very crisp and clear – the only comment I might make is the black disc appears to be a bit in shadow so isnt as clear as the rest of it.

    But you managed to pickup the detail in the cut crystal glass and I imagine thats not so easy!

    lensaddiction

    January 9, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    • I know what you mean, but in this case the lack of detail is predominantly due to the size and quality of the image displayed on the blog. Here is a 100% crop of the image on that section

      where you can see the detail retention. There is a tiny part of the chips that are rendered black, but it is only a tiny part.

      As you say its a high contrast image so it’s tough to get clarity throughout.

      James

      January 10, 2010 at 12:57 pm


Leave a Reply

