Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Something Green

with 2 comments

I was hoping for a really bold image today. Something green, stark and up close. Unfortunately the light was too low for the image that I really wanted. I could have used flash, indeed I tried, but the flash wiped out the natural light play on the leaves and didn’t work in my opinion. So, up went the ISO to compensate.

It’s not quite what I was after, but it’s actually not bad. It could be that a nice black border around it would help. Maybe I could have composed it better. Right now I think I’ll have another go at this when the light is much stronger outside, this was a shady spot of my garden and the sky is very dark.

##edit: I’ve changed my mind. I really like it now having seen it with a white border, the white of the website makes it live. White border with a black frame and this image has punch.

Written by James

December 3, 2009 at 1:07 pm

Posted in Photography, Photos

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Would an ND filter helped cut down on the reflections and given you more even colour tone?

    lensaddiction

    December 31, 2009 at 9:04 am

    • Good question. On this particular image I don’t think it would do much, the reflections look a little washed out in the version online as the image is saved as a poor quality jpeg to keep the file size down, but in the full size version there is detail throughout.

      That said, an ND filter and polarising would both have come in useful over the past few weeks particular with all the snow. I don’t have either yet, just the kit lens.

      James

      December 31, 2009 at 11:47 am


Leave a Reply

