Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Evil personified

with 7 comments

I saw another togs verion of this a couple of weeks ago and was keen to try it out for myself. The challenge,  make myself look as sinister as possible. This is what I’ve come up with as a first attempt.

The technique was a bit of guesswork. First I needed fairly low lighting, so this was at night with just the low living room lighting. I wanted a nice grainy image so I banged the ISO up to 800. I got nice and close to the camera, hit the autofocus button and then hand held the shot. Import to lightroom, knock out all the colour, play about a tiny bit with the levels but nothing too drastic, and bobs ya uncle I’m a mass murderer. I think the 3 days of not shaving helped enormously too, the downside being I look like a bit of a scruff with a beard. It’s gone now so I’ll have to plan another attempt.

I’m sweet in real life, honest :D. The next challenge will be to do a “nice” self portrait, I’m reading books on portraiture right now so hopefully it won’t be too long.

Written by James

December 3, 2009 at 10:12 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Been looking at this for a while now, my nose looks huge. Not sure what I can do about that other than buy a longer lens and shoot from a tripod a bit further away. Always worth remembering that getting in close to a subject like this will exagerate the size of the closest object in the field of view.

    James

    December 3, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    • if it was my shot u were trying to copy, your lighting is a lot better than mine but i would ahve said it was a little dark for me. u could maybe increase the contrast a bit too to putt out some of the detail on unshaven neck….unless u are growing a neck beard and didn’t tell me. the framing is fine but i think it just needs a bit of extra boost in lightroom to make it stand out… but as ever we never agree on shots so hey!!

      gav

      December 4, 2009 at 11:31 am

      • Plenty to think about there, I might have another crack at the edit, or might just reshoot to see if I can come up with something different. Framing is a pig as you know for this type of thing, I didn’t do a crop for this image at all.

        It’s fun to try stuff so I’ll have a play and see if I can learn anything further. I learned my lesson with the “litter” photos a few posts ago, posting the same image with different edits in different posts just makes for a boring blog, so I won’t repost. But, if I reshoot, watch this space.

        James

        December 4, 2009 at 12:22 pm

  2. hope to see the “bright’ side of you soon,

    your picture is professional!

    Jingle

    December 4, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    • Thankyou very much, hopefully it will be soon. I was planning on trying a self portrait in the garden this weekend but the weather forcast is horrendous.

      James

      December 4, 2009 at 6:09 pm

  3. so, how are you today?

    Ready for a break?

    Jingle

    December 12, 2009 at 4:24 am


Leave a Reply

