Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Thumbnails

with 4 comments

Today’s challenge, to find a way to display thumbnails of all images I upload in one nice looking page. I’ve been inspired by this blog, a guy who has made a great template for a photoblog. It’s not quite what I want, but it’s close. I love the random thumbnails on the left, and the gallery page is just great.

So, work today is to figure out how to do that. I’ve taken a couple of photos too but havn’t got them on the puter yet, they will get uploade later.

Written by James

November 29, 2009 at 2:16 pm

Posted in The Blog

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, a quick update. As it turns out I require various plugins in order to display images the way that I required. Unfortunately it isn’t possible to install thumbnails on a blog hosted by wordpress.com.

    WordPress.com take care of all the admin behind the blogs and provide the software/support free of charge. If this blog gets popular I will consider self-hosting, but for now I am perfectly happy with the service provided so will forgo the features I was looking for.

    As a replacement I may end up hacking together a page to display a random set of images held in the gallery.

    James

    December 15, 2009 at 7:09 pm

  2. To anyone who reads this, can you tell me how you found this post. It is, in equal measure, the most viwed and most boring post on the whole of my blog, but for whatever reason it gets about 5 times more traffic than any other post. WordPress stats are not great on this server so I can’t see where the traffic is coming from.

    So, did you click a link to get here?

    James

    December 28, 2009 at 9:06 pm

  3. […] Thumbnails November 20092 comments 4 […]

  4. […] Thumbnails November 20092 comments 4 […]


Leave a Reply

