Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Where to focus

with 9 comments

During todays excursion I decided on an experiment. Below are too version of the same (or very similar) shots, with different focal points. The quesiton is, which works best.

bw_tree

In this first image the focus is on the tree in the middle distance, the trees beyond it being sort of semi focused, with only the tree in the foreground out of focus.

bwtree2

ln this second image the focus is shifted to the tree in the foreground, with everything behind out of focus. Opinions please, which do you prefer? My preference as I write this is for the second image with the near tree in focus, but I’ve been changing my mind constantly. Decisions decisions.

Written by James

November 12, 2009 at 5:35 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. At the moment I like the first one, I find it quite striking with the lone tree in the centre. But it is one of those undecidable things, you can’t stick with one choice.

    passiveescape

    November 12, 2009 at 8:05 pm

  2. I’m coming around to that way of thinking too. That’s the fun of all this, it’s subjective and there are no right or wrong answers I think.

    James

    November 12, 2009 at 8:06 pm

  3. I’m back on the second one. I set the first as my background for a while and I found that when the picture dominates rather than having a border like on the website the blurred tree on the right gets annoying.

    The first image doesn’t suffer that problem. With a black surround that problem is removed completely, but my monitor doesn’t have a black surround. Maybe I should get it printed up and framed.

    James

    November 13, 2009 at 10:34 am

  4. Both are nice but I really like the second one, the immediacy of the textural detail catches the eye and holds in in a way that the other one doesnt for me

    lensaddiction

    November 29, 2009 at 12:34 am

    • Thankyou, I agree with you completely. I’ve considered them for a few days now and come to the conclusion that it is a much better option to have the foreground in focus, unless it acts as a frame to a very strong middle-background subject.

      James

      November 29, 2009 at 12:49 am

      • I have enjoyed reading your blog, I too am a beginner to DSLR photography, but I think you are a bit less of a beginner than I am from the quality of you pix. And I am only just starting to think about the possibilities of B&W, where you clearly have a grasp of the concept πŸ™‚

        http://lensaddiction.wordpress.com

        lensaddiction

        November 30, 2009 at 10:14 am

        • Thankyou for the praise, but I suspect you undervalue your own work. I have only had a DSLR for 3 weeks or so and rarely took photos before that.

          Do you have a photoblog somewhere, I’d love to have a look. Best thing to improve, or at least I think so, is to expose yourself to as much photography as possible, so join forums, read blogs and read books.

          James

          November 30, 2009 at 10:36 am

          • Note to self, don’t post late at night – yes I have a blog, I included the link in my previous post πŸ™‚

            And yes I am on several forums, follow a few blogs and read LOTS of books!

            lensaddiction

            December 1, 2009 at 4:54 am

            • Oook, not sure how I managed to miss that link. You have some lovely stuff on your flikr stream, the scenary stuff is miles better than anything I’ve come up with so far.

              Having a good look around and I like it.

              James

              December 1, 2009 at 8:24 am


Leave a Reply

