Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

White Balance

leave a comment »

As the days go by I become more and more aware of white balance. I confess it’s still not completely clear to me exactly what it is. Oh I can do the theory, if I’ve done one thing properly so far it’s read up on the technical stuff: white balance is simply setting the camera so that objects that appear white in real life appear white in the exposure, and thus all other colours in the exposure appear correctly.

White balance is necessary because we have to shoot in various lighting conditions. Images taken outside in “natural” light are the easiest since no real correction needs to be done. Capture the light, it’s natural. The problem comes when indoors under artificial light or during morning and evenings when the light takes on an organge tinge.

On reflection problem isn’t the right word here since the light early morning and evening is extremely attractice. Hmm, I’ll ponder on that.

Anyway, the problem I have is that I don’t really understand the intricacies of white balance when applied to the real world and thus cannot setup the camera to get it right. It’s not a huge drama since I always shoot raw and can correct it in lightroom, but I’d much rather get it right in the camera. White balance is next on my list of things to understand. Hmm, this list is getting longer by the day.

 

Written by James

November 8, 2009 at 10:11 am

Posted in Learning, Photography

Leave a Reply

