Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Improving focus

leave a comment »

Much experimentation has brought about some useful information. During landscape shots focus is only possible using a tripod and either remote release or timed shutter release to prevent camera shake, unless the shutter speed is extremely high. The tiniest fraction of movement is magnified due to the distance to the subject. It’s possible that an image stabilising (IS) lens would help this, but since I don’t have one I don’t know, I’m using the stock 18-55 that came with the camera.

Which brings me onto point 2. It seems that the 18-55 stock lens is incapable of focus above an aperture of around F9. I’ve been trying to take photos of a place setting indoors this evening, tripod and shutter release on delay. If I use a low aperture I get great focus but accompanying shallow DOF. If I increase the aperture to get better DOF I lose focus.

It’s an annoyance and maybe I will find that I am actually doing something wrong, but as of right now I don’t know what. At least it sets up the paramaters I can use when I want crystal shots of an object at 100% res.

 

 

 

 

Written by James

November 7, 2009 at 9:25 pm

Leave a Reply

