Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Post Processing

with 2 comments

So this morning when I was out looking for photos around sunrise I spotted these bales of hay in a field. I figured they might make an interesting image so stopped the car, took a couple of exposures and then carried on my way.

Bales_of_Hay

The problem is that I have no clue how to postprocess this image. I have an inkling that I am getting obsessed with post processing. I want to grab hold of every image and apply various image manipulations to try to get it to pop. Black and white, increase or decrease contrast and saturation, playing with black levels, fill lights etc. I suspect this isn’t the best of ideas as it might make me sloppy with the camera, but still I can’t help but feel this image is missing something.

A more interesting subject matter? Maybe.

Written by James

November 6, 2009 at 9:03 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, James – Enjoying getting caught up on your blog. I’m an amateur of many years; I use film, though, so I’m not sure how helpful I can be! I will say that I think your instinct re: getting sloppy with the camera/over-reliance on post is correct. You’ll want to keep the shots you’re unhappy with in order to chart your progress. And go back to those hay bales and shoot some more! I can’t tell you how many shots I take of the same things over and over, but this leads to an improved eye and fuller understanding of the equipment. That’s my long-winded two cents. Mainly, just enjoy your new hobby!

    blisterina

    November 7, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    • Thanks for the feedback. I’ll be having a look at your blog in detail this evening stealing ideas :D, looks good so far. Film would kill me, I botch far too many shots at the minute to even consider it, digital and delete, reshoot, delete, reshoot ad infinitum.

      James

      November 7, 2009 at 9:27 pm


Leave a Reply

