Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

A disaster

with 3 comments

I got the camera and it is dead on arrival, the auto focus is broken meaning my only option is to focus manually. That isn’t even remotely workable so I now have a choice. I can either send the camera back for a full refund or I can send it off to a canon service center for repair.

My decision is going to be determined primarily by postage. If canon or digital river (the canon seller on ebay) will pay the postage to have the item repaired I will get it repaired under warranty. If I have to pay for postage myself then I will send the camera back for a refund, a subsequent purchase then being neccessary.

Written by James

October 31, 2009 at 7:54 pm

Posted in Equipment, Photography

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. they should offer you the repair and mailing expenses. hope it’s a fast repair process.

    thelocalguide

    October 31, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    • I hope you are right, I’m going to try to ring them today but I suspect it might have to wait until monday

      squawking

      November 1, 2009 at 10:24 am

    • They have agreed to pay the postage, I sent it off today. Hopefully a quick turnaround, I love the camera and can’t wait to get it back. Having used manual focus for over 170 images today auto-focus is going to make things seem so easy its a joke.

      James

      November 4, 2009 at 5:28 pm


Leave a Reply

