Beginning Photography

The musings of a budding photographer

Why Photography

with 3 comments

It started out as a fascination with the sky at night. I have always loved images from the hubble, galaxies and nebula that are effectively time machines, looking back millions of years. At some point I stumbled accross an image taken by a guy with a simple camera and a tripod, a long exposure of the night sky, and I was blown away. If done properly you can see our galaxy, or at the very least the arm of the spiral in which we reside. Right there and then I wanted a camera to do the same. Of course, that would keep me entertained for a few nights and then I would pack it away never to be seen, so I put the idea on the back burner.

But then I got a new influence. A mate of mine had been interested in photography for some time and started to show me his work. I was pretty suprised, there was some really good stuff there. Over the course of the past year he has continued to link me to his exposures and they have gotten better and better. The stuff he was capturing got me thinking about taking it up myself.

Then I had another thought. I wonder if there is any money to be made. Well, it turns out there is, but not a lot unless you are very good. I looked at lots of options, stock photos, setting up on ebay and the like. It dawned on me that it takes a lot of work to make money that way, however in the search I found loads of cool photos. So now a bit of a kernel of interest was forming, the next step was to start to learn a bit.

First step, the library. I figured I needed to get a basic understanding of terms and find out what is involved in a good image. I read a book called “Understanding Exposure” and would reccomend it to anyone starting out in photography. It introduces you to the big three: shutter speed, aperture and ISO in a way that is easy to understand to the rank amateur.

And so, a year after my first interest and a month after I really started looking into it, I decided to invest in a camera. The big question now, what to buy?

Written by James

October 24, 2009 at 10:19 pm

Posted in Personal

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi there,

    I checked out that same book, “Understanding Exposure”, from my library and just started reading it. I recently got a newish Canon Powershot SX10 IS and I am dabbling in photography. Here’s to having fun learning! I think that the feeling of accomplishment in your creative products will be the greatest form of payment.

    Team Misou

    November 19, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    • I agree with you entirely, when you capture a good image it’s a real sense of achivement. I’ve done it two or three times now (out of about 2000 attempts…) and it’s great to go back and look.

      Understanding exposure is a superb book simply because it makes everything so simple to understand for the complete novice.

      James

      November 19, 2009 at 4:09 pm

      • Good to see that you have been taking photos and that your techniques (and eyes) are improving after a few months.

        I started my own photoblog at http://colormelife.wordpress.com, and I’ve added your blog to my blogroll.

        Keep up the good work!

        Me

        February 22, 2010 at 9:52 pm


Leave a Reply

